I think about what I have lost and what I have gained. I try and weigh them to see which is larger in magnitude. I am looking for the correlation between the two.

I do not lose because I have gained, and neither do I gain because I have lost. I am not punished by having things taken away from me because I have gained something else, and I am not offered something in condolences for the things that have slipped out of my grasp.

Yet, I have gained because I have lost, and I have also lost because I have gained. Because of the things that I have chosen to let go, now new things can come and take its place. For wistful dreams that I recognize will not come reality, I have replaced with happy, hopeful aspirations. Time that I could have used to chase monetary, materialistic things, I have given up to pursue head and heart truths.

I am starting to realize that while in the moment I may not see it, the good will come. It may take longer that I expect, longer than I hope, longer than I think I can wait, but it will come. I believe in greater, better things. It is difficult and it is painful. But it is worthwhile.

Leave a comment